New York is…

…coming soon. 

I can’t believe I’ll be living and working in New York City in six weeks. Seriously. When people ask me what my post-grad plans are (which happens with increased frequency as we approach graduation), it almost sounds like I’m lying when I tell them that on June 20 I’ll be sitting at a desk in the New York offices of The Huffington Post. Even the part about the desk doesn’t seem real. For the past four years, I’ve owned college. Not to brag or anything, but I’m really good at college. I made stellar grades, got involved, received some honors and made a ridiculous amount of friends. If college were a career, I would definitely be up for a serious promotion to upper management.

But in just a few weeks, I won’t be “doing college” anymore. In fact, I won’t be in school at all. For the first time in 17 years, I won’t have to measure my summer by the break from classes and homework. Instead, August will come and go and I’ll just keep on working. The weather will change, but my life won’t. And I think that’s the scariest part. But at the same time, it’s exciting. It feels like the air around me is charged with energy, like the fear and doubt that are oozing from my pores at an alarming rate are being instantly vaporized, converted magically into the positive ions of possibility and hope and potential.

To be honest, I’m terrified I won’t be as good at “real life” as I was at “doing college.” I’m scared to have the work I produce be seen (and critiqued) by a national audience on the (notoriously fickle and often times bitter) Internet. I’m scared I’ll get lost in the subway, get mugged in an alley, pay too much for rent, put strain on my relationship as I struggle with distance, etc. But I can’t do anything about that now. I’m committed, and I’m going to do the best I can.

If you would like to follow along as I take one of the most incredible (and incredibly terrifying) journeys of my life, you can visit my newly-established blog New York is… There I plan to chronicle all of the ups and downs of starting an adult life in the most exciting city in the world. It’s going to be quite an adventure.

I welcome any and all of your words of encouragement in the comments!

About Chris Spurlock

Senior at the University of Missouri studying Convergence Journalism and Political Science. Self-described nerd, fitness junkie, sports fanatic and tech lover. http://cjspurlock.squarespace.com/ View all posts by Chris Spurlock

3 responses to “New York is…

  • smwhitney

    I’m scared about being a big girl too! What a great four years we’ve had, is there anything we haven’t done?

    You’re going to be incredibly successful in NYC! Best of luck and look forward to a visitor someday:)

  • Joshua Maciel

    Best of luck Chris.

    College is about living up to clearly defined expectations. If you live up to those expectations, you did well.

    Real life is about exceeding those expectations. And nobody will tell you what you should aim for.

    Just keep creating and good things will happen. Don’t settle. And enjoy the big city.

  • Karen Johnson

    Your ability to write amazes me – such a gift to inform and entertain all at the same time. This skill will get you far, and I look forward to keeping up on the life and times of Chris Spurlock in the Big Apple. I have no doubts that you will find success wherever you happen to be located. I wish you well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

